Selection Process and Committee

Selection Process

There are three phases of the selection process:  

  1. Once the nominations close, the Partnership for Public Service reviews all nominations for eligibility and completeness. Top nominations will be selected to move to the next phase.  
  1. Next, Partnership staff vets top nominations by interviewing the nominee, the nominator, and the three references. The top nominations will be selected as finalists and announced during Public Service Recognition Week
  1. Following a careful review and vetting process by the Partnership for Public Service, a Selection Committee and the Partnership select the winners, who are announced in the early fall.  

Selection Criteria

The selection committee ranks the finalists in each category based on:

  • The significance and impact of their accomplishments on people in America and across the world. 
  • How well they foster innovation. 
  • Demonstrated leadership. 
  • The extent to which they exemplify excellence in public service.

Selection Committee

The selection committee is comprised of national leaders representing government, business, entertainment, media and the nonprofit/foundation community.  

Past selection committee members include:  

JR DeShazo
Dean, University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs

Mo Elleithee
Executive Director, Georgetown University Institute of Politics and Public Service

Janet Napolitano
Former President, University of California

Frederick Wayne
President, Howard University

News and Entertainment

Samantha Bee
“Full Frontal with Samantha Bee”

Kate Bolduan
Anchor, CNN

Adam Conover
“Adam Ruins Everything” and “The G Word”

Michael Lewis

Martha MacCallum
Fox News

Kai Ryssdal
Host, Marketplace


Sen. Joni Ernst

Rep. John Katko
New York

Rep. Stephanie Murphy

Rep. Bennie Thompson

Shirley Jones
National President, Blacks in Government

Tony Reardon
National President, National Treasury Employees Union


Harvey Fineberg
President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Laurene Powell Jobs
Founder and President, Emerson Collective

Sara Mogulescu
President, Volcker Alliance

Craig Newmark
Founder, Craig Newmark Philanthropies

Raj Shah
President, Rockefeller Foundation

Mariko Silver
President and CEO, Henry Luce Foundation

Private Sector

Anne Finucane
Vice Chairman, Bank of America

Amy Hood
Executive Vice President, Microsoft Corporation

Steven Preston
President and CEO, Goodwill Industries International

Christoph Schweizer
CEO, Boston Consulting Group